RSS

THE PRESENCE OF GOD – PROMISE OF GOD’S PRESENCE.

05 Mar
Moses Pleading with Israel, as in Deuteronomy ...
Image via Wikipedia

In the beginning God reveals Himself only for a few, privileged individuals. With time, he gave up more people, depth through His Name –  describes Himself as: “I am what is”, which evokes some of infinity, in the sense of eternal duration beyond time and the space of.
Also, from the very beginning (apart from God, “self-revelation”) can be heard to ensure His permanent presence in man.
Emerge there different types of functions performed against a man, like God – the Guardian and the Shepherd (characterized by the name “Emmanuel“, meaning “God with us”); God –  the Favourite, God – the Redeemer and finally present at the last day, as God –  the Judge, too, the King of all nations.

=====================================================================
BIBLE.

Genesis 17, 7
7 And I will establish my covenant between me and you, and between your seed after you in their generations, by a perpetual covenant: to be a God to you, and to your seed after you.

Genesis 26, 24
24 where the Lord appeared to him that same night, saying: I am the God of Abraham your father, do not fear, for I am with you: I will bless you, and multiply your seed for my servant Abraham’s sake.

Genesis 28, 15
15 And I will be your keeper wherever you go, and will bring you back into this land: neither will I leave you, till I shall have accomplished all that I have said.

Exodus 3, 12 – 15
12 And he said to him: I will be with you; and this you shall have for a sign that I have sent you: When you shall have brought my people out of Egypt, you shall offer sacrifice to God upon this mountain. 13 Moses said to God: Lo, I shall go to the children of Israel, and say to them: The God of your fathers has sent me to you. If they shall say to me: What is his name? What shall I say to them? 14 God said to Moses: I AM WHO AM. He said: Thus shall you say to the children of Israel: HE WHO IS, has sent me to you. 15 And God said again to Moses: Thus shall you say to the children of Israel: The Lord God of your fathers the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob has sent me to you; this is my name for ever, and this is my memorial unto all generations.

Exodus 33, 16
16 For how shall we be able to know, I and your people, that we have found grace in your sight, unless you walk with us, that we may be glorified by all people that dwell upon the earth?

Exodus 34, 9 n
9 said: If I have found grace in your sight, O Lord, I beseech you that you will go with us, (for it is a stiffnecked people) and take away our iniquities and sin, and possess us. 10 The Lord answered: I will make a covenant in the sight of all, I will do signs such as were never seen upon the earth, nor in any nations; that this people, in the midst of whom you are, may see the terrible work of the Lord which I will do.

Joshua 1, 5
5 No man shall be able to resist you all the days of your life: as I have been with Moses, so will I be with you: I will not leave you, nor forsake you.

Judges 6, 16
16 And the Lord said to him: I will be with you: and you shall cut off Madian as one man.

1 Samuel 3, 19
19 And Samuel grew, and the Lord was with him, and not one of his words fell to the ground.

2 Samuel 7, 9
9 And I have been with you wheresoever you have walked, and have slain all your enemies from before your face: and I have made you a great man, like unto the name of the great ones that are on the earth.

2 Kings 18, 7
7 Wherefore the Lord also was with him, and in all things, to which he went forth, he behaved himself wisely. And he rebelled against the king of the Assyrians, and served him not.

Psalm 46, 8
8 The Lord of armies is with us: the God of Jacob is our protector.

Isaiah 7, 14
14 Therefore the Lord himself shall give you a sign. Behold a virgin shall conceive, and bear a son and his name shall be called Emmanuel.

Isaiah 40, 10 n
10 Behold the Lord God shall come with strength, and his arm shall rule: Behold his reward is with him and his work is before him. 11 He shall feed his flock like a shepherd: he shall gather together the lambs with his arm, and shall take them up in his bosom, and he himself shall carry them that are with young.

Isaiah 43, 10 nn
10 You are my witnesses, says the Lord, and my servant whom I have chosen: that you may know, and believe me, and understand that I myself am. Before me there was no God formed, and after me there shall be none. 11 I am, I am the Lord: and there is no saviour besides me. 12 I have declared, and have saved. I have made it heard, and there was no strange one among you. You are my witnesses, says the Lord, and I am God.

Isaiah 45, 14 n
14 Thus says the Lord: The labour of Egypt, and the merchandise of Ethiopia, and of Sabaim, men of stature shall come over to you, and shall be yours: they shall walk after you, they shall go bound with manacles: and they shall worship you, and shall make supplication to you: only in you is God, and there is no God besides you. 15 Verily you are
a hidden God, the God of Israel the saviour.

Isaiah 52, 3. 6
3 For thus says the Lord: You were sold gratis, and you shall be redeemed, without money.
6 Therefore my people shall know my name in that day: for I myself that spoke, behold
I am here.

Isaiah 52, 7
7 How beautiful upon the mountains are the feet of him that brings good tidings, and that preaches peace: of him that shows forth good, that preaches salvation, that says to Sion: Your God shall reign!

Isaiah 54, 5
5 For he that made you shall rule over you, the Lord of hosts is his name: and your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel, shall be called the God of all the earth.

Isaiah 60
Arise, be enlightened, O Jerusalem: for your light has come, and the glory of the Lord is risen upon you. 2 For behold darkness shall cover the earth, and a mist the people: but the Lord shall arise upon you, and his glory shall be seen upon you. 3 And the Gentiles shall walk in your light, and kings in the brightness of your rising. 4 Lift up your eyes round about, and see: all these are gathered together, they have come to you: your sons shall come from afar, and your daughters shall rise up at your side. 5 Then shall you see, and abound, and your heart shall wonder and be enlarged, when the multitude of the sea shall be converted to you, the strength of the Gentiles shall come to you. 6 The multitude of camels shall cover you, the dromedaries of Madian and Epha: all they from Saba shall come, bringing gold and frankincense: and showing forth praise to the Lord. 7 All the flocks of Cedar shall be gathered together unto you, the rams of Nabaioth shall minister to you: they shall be offered upon my acceptable altar, and I will glorify the house of my majesty.
8 Who are these, that fly as clouds, and as doves to their windows? 9 For, the islands wait for me, and the ships of the sea in the beginning: that I may bring your sons from afar: their silver, and their gold with them, to the name of the Lord your God, and to the Holy One of Israel, because he has glorified you. 10 And the children of strangers shall build up your walls, and their kings shall minister to you: for in my wrath have I struck you, and in my reconciliation have I had mercy upon you. 11 And your gates shall be open continually: they shall not be shut day nor night, that the strength of the Gentiles may be brought to you, and their kings may be brought. 12 For the nation and the kingdom that will not serve you, shall perish: and the Gentiles shall be wasted with desolation. 13 The glory of Libanus shall come to you, the fir tree, and the box tree, and the pine tree together, to beautify the place of my sanctuary: and I will glorify the place of my feet. 14 And the children of them that afflict you, shall come bowing down to you, and all that slandered you shall worship the steps of your feet, and shall call you the city of the Lord, the Sion of the Holy One of Israel. 15 Because you were forsaken, and hated, and there was none that passed through you, I will make you to be an everlasting glory, a joy unto generation and generation:
16 And you shall suck the milk of the Gentiles, and you shall be nursed with the breasts of kings: and you shall know that I am the Lord your Saviour, and your Redeemer, the Mighty One of Jacob. 17 For brass I will bring gold, and for iron I will bring silver: and for wood brass, and for stones iron: and I will make your visitation peace, and your overseers justice. 18 Iniquity shall no more be heard in your land, wasting nor destruction in your borders, and salvation shall possess your walls, and praise your gates. 19 You shall no more have the sun for your light by day, neither shall the brightness of the moon enlighten you: but the Lord shall be unto you for an everlasting light, and your God for your glory.
20 Your sun shall go down no more, and your moon shall not decrease: for the Lord shall be unto you for an everlasting light, and the days of your mourning shall be ended. 21 And your people shall be all just, they shall inherit the land for ever, the branch of my planting, the work of my hand to glorify me. 22 The least shall become a thousand, and a little one
a most strong nation: I the Lord will suddenly do this thing in its time.

Jeremiah 1, 8. 19
8 Be not afraid at their presence: for I am with you to deliver you, says the Lord.
19 And they shall fight against them, and shall not prevail: for I am with you, says the Lord, to deliver you.

Ezekiel 34, 15 n. 31
15 I will feed my sheep: and I will cause them to lie down, says the Lord God. 16 I will seek that which was lost: and that which was driven away, I will bring again: and I will bind up that which was broken, and I will strengthen that which was weak, and that which was fat and strong I will preserve, and I will feed them in judgment.
31 And you my flocks, the flocks of my pasture are men: and I am the Lord your God, says the Lord God.

Ezekiel 48, 35
35 Its circumference was eighteen thousand: and the name of the city from that day, The Lord is there.

Zechariah 14, 5. 9
5 And you shall flee to the valley of those mountains, for the valley of the mountains shall be joined even to the next, and you shall flee as you fled from the face of the earthquake in the days of Ozias king of Juda: and the Lord my God shall come, and all the saints with him.
9 And the Lord shall be king over all the earth: in that day there shall be one Lord, and his name shall be one.

Malachi 3, 1
1 Behold I send my angel, and he shall prepare the way before my face. And presently the Lord, whom you seek, and the angel of the testament, whom you desire, shall come to his temple. Behold, he comes, says the Lord of hosts.

================================================================

Emmanuel Inno GMG - Marco Mammoli http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V3D9ZTdNmr8

EMMANUEL (HYMN XV WORLD YOUTH DAY)
1. Dall’orizzonte una grande luce
viaggia nella storia
e lungo gli anni ha vinto il buio
facendosi Memoria,
e illuminando la nostra vita
chiaro ci rivela
che non si vive se non si cerca
la Verita…
Da mille strade arriviamo a Roma
sui passi della fede,
sentiamo l’eco della Parola
che risuona ancora
da queste mura, da questo cielo
per il mondo intero:
e vivo oggi,
e l’Uomo Vero
Cristo tra noi.
[ Beyond the horizon shining light
takes on the story
and overcoming the darkness of time
becomes a memento.
Enlightening our lives
clearly reveals to us:
that only looking for the Truth
life has meaning.
Paths of the world,
in the footsteps of faith
we come to Rome,
there to hear the echo of words
that still resonates.
It’s Roman walls, the Roman sky
communicate to the world:
He was alive – a real man
Christ among us.]

[CHORUS:]
Ritornello
Siamo qui
sotto la stessa luce
sotto la sua croce
cantando ad una voce.
E’ l’Emmanuel
Emmanuel, Emmanuel.
E’ L’Emmanuel, Emmanuel.
[And we with him:
covered by his light,
united to His cross,
sing with one voice
Emmanuel,
Emmanuel, Emmanuel.
Emmanuel, Emmanuel.]

2. Dalla citta di chi ha versato
il sangue per amore
ed ha cambiato il vecchio mondo
vogliamo ripartire.
Seguendo Cristo, insieme a Pietro,
rinasce in noi la fede,
Parola viva che ci rinnova
e cresce in noi.

Siamo qui
sotto la stessa luce
sotto la sua croce
cantando ad una voce.
E’ l’Emmanuel
Emmanuel, Emmanuel.
E’ l’Emmanuel, Emmanuel.

3. Un grande dono che Dio ci ha fatto
e Cristo, il suo Figlio,
e; umanita e rinnovata,
e in Lui salvata.
E’ vero uomo, e vero Dio,
e il Pane della Vita,
che ad ogni uomo ai suoi fratelli
ridonera.

Siamo qui
sotto la stessa luce
sotto la sua croce
cantando ad una voce.
E’ l’Emmanuel
Emmanuel, Emmanuel.
E’ l’Emmanuel, Emmanuel.

4. La morte e uccisa, la vita ha vinto,
e Pasqua in tutto il mondo,
un vento soffia in ogni uomo
lo Spirito fecondo.
Che porta avanti nella storia
la Chiesa sua sposa,
sotto lo sguardo di Maria,
comunita.

Siamo qui
sotto la stessa luce
sotto la sua croce
cantando ad una voce.
E’ l’Emmanuel
Emmanuel, Emmanuel.
E’ l’Emmanuel, Emmanuel.

5. Noi debitori del passato
di secoli di storia,
di vite date per amore,
di santi che han creduto,
di uomini che ad alta quota
insegnano a volare,
di chi la storia sa cambiare,
come Gesu.

Siamo qui
sotto la stessa luce
sotto la sua croce
cantando ad una voce.
E’ l’Emmanuel
Emmanuel, Emmanuel.
E’ l’Emmanuel, Emmanuel.

6. E’ giunta un’era di primavera,
e tempo di cambiare.
E’ oggi il giorno sempre nuovo
per ricominciare,
per dare svolte, parole nuove
e convertire il cuore,
per dire al mondo, ad ogni uomo:
Signore Gesu.

Siamo qui
sotto la stessa luce
sotto la sua croce
cantando ad una voce.

E’ l’Emmanuel
Emmanuel, Emmanuel.
E’ l’Emmanuel, Emmanuel
(su di un tono)

E’ l’Emmanuel, Dio con noi
Cristo tra noi.
Sotto la sua croce
E’ l’Emmanuel, Emmanuel
Sotto la stessa croce
cantando ad una voce.
(su di un tono)

E’ l’Emmanuel, Dio con noi
Cristo tra noi.
Sotto la sua croce
E’ l’Emmanuel, Emmanuel
Sotto la stessa croce
cantando ad una voce.

2. With the city in which to love
much blood shed,
that changed the image of the world
confidently leaving.
Together with Peter, staring at the Lord,
strengthen our faith;
Living Word renews us
and grows in us.
3. This great gift of God,
it is Christ – His Son
and all of humanity restored
and redeemed him.
True God, true Man
He is the Bread of Life
and all men – your brothers
He gives up.
4. Death defeated, won life
Passover in the world;
gust of wind in everyone’s heart:
Spirit of the Risen One.
It is he who guides you through the ages
The church – his Bride,
under the watchful eye of the Virgin Mary,
communion of hearts.
5. And so we, as debtors
centuries of history,
many lives for love,
saints, which they believed;
People, what a great price
taught us to fly;
those who for centuries had transformed
as Christ the Lord.
6. Spring has come for longer hours,
The time of grace for conversion.
Do not wait for tomorrow, “today is a gift –
Take it with enthusiasm.
Returns sincere words of the new heart of repentance.
Christ brings to each of the news people time.

 

By the way, maybe someone will want to reminisce about the good old days:
Emmanuel - XV Worl Youth Day - Roma 2000
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yx3X3I65jCs
XV World Youth Day Roma 2000
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YQjbHwg8IGY
And in a special way I greet all those involved in World Youth Day in 2002 and 2008:
World Youth Day - Emmanuel Community Route - Slideshow
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pif8ptSeXY4&feature=related
World Youth Day Festival July 2002 Toronto, Ontario Canada
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=imvBSMGD6v0&playnext=1&list=PLDC200BFC8D5E118E
Soon a meeting in Madrid:
Song for World Youth Day Madrid in 2011
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x7uiXaZLG9Y&feature=related
Himno oficial - JMJ 2011 - Official Hymn
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lsm_Xwq8T6M&feature=related
¡Hola!
Orifiell.
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
