RSS

[English] The Word of God – God speaks to people.

25 Mar
The Aleppo Codex is a medieval manuscript of t...

The Word of God, is a science, to which God wants to reach people through His spokesperson.

God continually calls to some people giving to their mission to pass on His words. They are called prophets, in a somewhat broader sense.
God speaks in different ways. It is not also clarified the way in which the word of God is spoken.

===============================================================

BIBLE

Genesis 12, 1

1 And the Lord said to Abram: Go forth
out of your country, and from your kindred, and out of your father’s
house, and come into the land which I shall show you.

Genesis 41, 39

39 He said therefore to Joseph: Seeing
God has shown you all that you have said, can I find one wiser and
one like unto you?

Numbers 12, 6

6 he said to them: Hear my words: if
there be among you a prophet of the Lord, I will appear to him in a
vision, or I will speak to him in a dream.

Numbers 12, 8

8 For I speak to him mouth to mouth:
and plainly, and not by riddles and figures does he see the Lord. Why
then were you not afraid to speak ill of my servant Moses?

1 Kings 22, 13 – 17

13 And the messenger that went to call
Micah, spoke to him, saying: Behold the words of the prophets with
one mouth declare good things to the king: let your word, therefore,
be like to theirs, and speak that which is good. 14 But Micah said to
him: As the Lord lives, whatsoever the Lord shall say to me, that
will I speak. 15 So he came to the king, and the king said to him:
Micah, shall we go to Ramoth Galaad to battle, or shall we forbear?
He answered him: Go up, and prosper, and the Lord shall deliver it
into the king’s hands. 16 But the king said to him: I adjure you
again and again, that you tell me nothing but that which is true, in
the name of the Lord. 17 And he said: I saw all Israel scattered upon
the hills, like sheep that have no shepherd; and the Lord said: These
have no master: let every man of them return to his house in peace.

2 Kings 3, 15…;

15 But now bring me hither a minstrel.
And when the minstrel played, the hand of the Lord came upon him, and
he said: (16)

Proverbs 8, 1-21. 32-36

1 Does not wisdom cry aloud, and
prudence put forth her voice? 2 Standing in the top of the highest
places by the way, in the midst of the paths, 3 beside the gates of
the city, in the very doors she speaks, saying: 4 O you men, to you I
call, and my voice is to the sons of men. 5 O little ones understand
subtlety, and you unwise, take notice. 6 Hear, for I will speak of
great things: and my lips shall be opened to preach right things. 7
My mouth shall meditate truth, and my lips shall hate wickedness. 8
All my words are just, there is nothing wicked, nor perverse in them.
9 They are right to them that understand, and just to them that find
knowledge. 10 Receive my instruction, and not money: choose knowledge
rather than gold. 11 For wisdom is better than all the most precious
things: and whatsoever may be desired cannot be compared to it.

32 Now, therefore, you children, hear
me: blessed are they that keep my ways. 33 Hear instruction, and be
wise, and refuse it not. 34 Blessed is the man that hears me, and
that watches daily at my gates, and waits at the posts of my doors.
35 He that shall find me, shall find life, and shall have salvation
from the Lord. 36 But he that shall sin against me shall hurt his own
soul. All that hate me love death.

Wisdom 7 – 8

Myself am a mortal man, like all
others, and of the race of him, that was first made of the earth, and
in the womb of my mother I was fashioned to be flesh. 2 In the time
of ten months I was compacted in blood, of the seed of man, and the
pleasure of sleep concurring. 3 And being born, I drew in the common
air, and fell upon the earth, that is made alike, and the first voice
which I uttered was crying, as all others do. 4 I was nursed in
swaddling clothes, and with great cares. 5 For none of the kings had
any other beginning of birth. 6 For all men have one entrance into
life, and the like going out. 7 Wherefore I wished, and understanding
was given me: and I called upon God, and the spirit of wisdom came
upon me: 8 And I preferred her before kingdoms and thrones, and
esteemed riches nothing in comparison of her. 9 Neither did I compare
unto her any precious stone: for all gold, in comparison of her, is
as a little sand; and silver, in respect to her, shall be counted as
clay. 10 I loved her above health and beauty, and chose to have her
instead of light: for her light cannot be put out. 11 Now all good
things came to me together with her, and innumerable riches through
her hands, 12 and I rejoiced in all these: for this wisdom went
before me, and I knew not that she was the mother of them all. 13
Which I have learned without guile, and communicate without envy, and
her riches I hide not. 14 For she is an infinite treasure to men:
which they that use, become the friends of God, being commended for
the gifts of discipline. 15 And God has given to me to speak as I
would, and to conceive thoughts worthy of those things that are given
me: because he is the guide of wisdom, and the director of the wise:
16 For in his hand are both we, and our words, and all wisdom, and
the knowledge and skill of works. 17 For he has given me the true
knowledge of the things that are: to know the disposition of the
whole world, and the virtues of the elements, 18 the beginning, and
ending, and midst of the times, the alterations of their courses, and
the changes of seasons, 19 the revolutions of the year, and the
dispositions of the stars, 20 the natures of living creatures, and
rage of wild beasts, the force of winds, and reasonings of men, the
diversities of plants, and the virtues of roots, 21 and all such
things as are hid, and not foreseen, I have learned: for wisdom,
which is the worker of all things, taught me. 22 For in her is the
spirit of understanding; holy, one, manifold, subtile, eloquent,
active, undefiled, sure, sweet, loving that which is good, quick,
which nothing hinders, beneficent, 23 gentle, kind, steadfast,
assured, secure, having all power, overseeing all things, and
containing all spirits: intelligible, pure, subtile: 24 For wisdom is
more active than all active things; and reaches everywhere, by reason
of her purity. 25 For she is a vapour of the power of God, and a
certain pure emanation of the glory of the Almighty God: and
therefore no defiled thing comes into her. 26 For she is the
brightness of eternal light, and the unspotted mirror of God’s
majesty, and the image of his goodness. 27 And being but one, she can
do all things: and remaining in herself the same, she renews all
things, and through nations conveys herself into holy souls, she
makes the friends of God and prophets. 28 For God loves none but him
that dwells with wisdom. 29 For she is more beautiful than the sun,
and above all the order of the stars: being compared with the light,
she is found before it. 30 For after this comes night, but no evil
can overcome wisdom.

1 She reaches, therefore, from end to
end mightily, and orders all things sweetly. 2 Her have I loved, and
have sought her out from my youth, and have desired to take for my
spouse, and I became a lover of her beauty. 3 She glorifies her
nobility by being conversant with God: yea, and the Lord of all
things has loved her. 4 For it is she that teaches the knowledge of
God and is the chooser of his works. 5 And if riches be desired in
life, what is richer than wisdom, which makes all things? 6 And if
sense do work: who is a more artful worker than she of those things
that are? 7 And if a man love justice: her labours have great
virtues: for she teaches temperance, and prudence, and justice, and
fortitude, which are such things as men can have nothing more
profitable in life. 8 And if a man desire much knowledge: she knows
things past, and judges of things to come: she knows the subtilties
of speeches, and the solutions of arguments: she knows signs and
wonders before they be done, and the events of times and ages. 9 I
purposed, therefore, to take her to me to live with me: knowing that
she will communicate to me of her good things, and will be a comfort
in my cares and grief. 10 For her sake I shall have glory among the
multitude, and honour with the ancients, though I be young: 11 And I
shall be found of a quick conceit in judgment, and shall be admired
in the sight of the mighty, and the faces of princes shall wonder at
me. 12 They shall wait for me when I hold my peace, and they shall
look upon me when I speak; and if I talk much, they shall lay their
hands on their mouth. 13 Moreover, by the means of her I shall have
immortality: and shall leave behind me an everlasting memory to them
that come after me. 14 I shall set the people in order: and nations
shall be subject to me. 15 Terrible kings hearing, shall be afraid of
me: among the multitude I shall be found good, and valiant in war. 16
When I go into my house, I shall repose myself with her: for her
conversation has no bitterness, nor her company any tediousness, but
joy and gladness. 17 Thinking these things with myself, and pondering
them in my heart, that to be allied to wisdom is immortality, 18 and
that there is great delight in her friendship, and inexhaustible
riches in the works of her hands, and in the exercise of conference
with her, wisdom, and glory in the communication of her words: I went
about seeking, that I might take her to myself. 19 And I was a witty
child, and had received a good soul. 20 And whereas I was more good,
I came to a body undefiled. 21 And as I knew that I could not
otherwise be continent, except God gave it, and this also was a point
of wisdom, to know whose gift it was, I went to the Lord, and
besought him, and said with my whole heart: (next chapter: 9)

Jeremiah 1, 4

4 And the word of the Lord came to me,
saying: (5)

Jeremiah 20, 7 – 9

7 You have deceived me, O Lord, and I
am deceived: you have been stronger than I, and you have prevailed. I
have become a laughingstock all the day, all scoff at me. 8 For I am
speaking now this long time, crying out against iniquity, and I often
proclaim devastation: and the word of the Lord is made a reproach to
me, and a derision all the day. 9 Then I said: I will not make
mention of him, nor speak any more in his name: and there came in my
heart as a burning fire, shut up in my bones, and I was wearied, not
being able to bear it.

Jeremiah 36

1 And it came to pass in the fourth
year of Joakim the son of Josias king of Juda, that this word came to
Jeremias by the Lord, saying: 2 Take you a roll of a book, and you
shall write in it all the words that I have spoken to you against
Israel and Juda, and against all the nations from the day that I
spoke to you, from the days of Josias even to this day. 3 If so be,
when the house of Juda shall hear all the evils that I purpose to do
unto them, that they may return every man from his wicked way: and I
will forgive their iniquity, and their sin. 4 So Jeremias called
Baruch the son of Nerias: and Baruch wrote from the mouth of Jeremias
all the words of the Lord, which he spoke to him, upon the roll of a
book. 5 And Jeremias commanded Baruch, saying: I am shut up, and
cannot go into the house of the Lord. 6 Go in therefore, and read out
of the volume, which you have written from my mouth, the words of the
Lord, in the hearing of all the people in the house of the Lord on
the fasting day: and also you shall read them in the hearing of all
Juda that come out of their cities: 7 If so be they may present their
supplication before the Lord, and may return every one from his
wicked way: for great is the wrath and indignation which the Lord has
pronounced against this people. 8 And Baruch the son of Nerias did
according to all that Jeremiah the prophet had commanded him, reading
out of the volume the words of the Lord in the house of the Lord. 9
And it came to pass in the fifth year of Joakim the son of Josias
king of Juda, in the ninth month, that they proclaimed a fast before
the Lord to all the people in Jerusalem, and to all the people that
had come together out of the cities of Juda to Jerusalem. 10 And
Baruch read out of the volume the words of Jeremias in the house of
the Lord, in the treasury of Gamarias the son of Saphan the scribe,
in the upper court, in the entry of the new gate of the house of the
Lord, in the hearing of all the people. 11 And when Micheas the son
of Gamarias the son of Saphan had heard out of the book all the words
of the Lord, 12 he went down into the king’s house to the secretary’s
chamber: and behold all the princes sat there, Elisama the scribe,
and Dalaias the son of Semeias, and Elnathan the son of Achobor, and
Gamarias the son of Saphan, and Sedecias the son of Hananias, and all
the princes. 13 And Micheas told them all the words that he had heard
when Baruch read out of the volume in the hearing of the people. 14
Therefore all the princes sent Judi the son of Nathanias, the son of
Selemias, the son of Chusi, to Baruch, saying: Take in your hand the
volume in which you have read in the hearing of the people, and come.
So Baruch the son of Nerias took the volume in his hand, and came to
them. 15 And they said to him: Sit down and read these things in our
hearing. And Baruch read in their hearing. 16 And when they had heard
all the words, they looked upon one another with astonishment, and
they said to Baruch: We must tell the king all these words. 17 And
they asked him, saying: Tell us how you wrote all these words from
his mouth. 18 And Baruch said to them: With his mouth he pronounced
all these words as if he were reading to me: and I wrote in a volume
with ink. 19 And the princes said to Baruch: Go and hide, both you
and Jeremias, and let no man know where you are. 20 And they went in
to the king into the court: but they laid up the volume in the
chamber of Elisama the scribe: and they told all the words in the
hearing of the king. 21 And the king sent Judi that he should take
the volume: who bringing it out of the chamber of Elisama the scribe,
read it in the hearing of the king, and of all the princes that stood
about the king. 22 Now the king sat in the winter house, in the ninth
month: and there was a hearth before him full of burning coals. 23
And when Judi had read three or four pages, he cut it with the
penknife, and he cast it into the fire, that was upon the hearth,
till all the volume was consumed with the fire that was on the
hearth. 24 And the king and all his servants that heard all these
words were not afraid, nor did they rend their garments. 25 But yet
Elnathan, and Dalaias, and Gamarias spoke to the king, not to burn
the book: and he heard them not. 26 And the king commanded Jeremiel
the son of Amelech, and Saraias the son of Ezriel, and Selemias the
son of Abdeel, to take up Baruch the scribe, and Jeremiah the
prophet: but the Lord hid them. 27 And the word of the Lord came to
Jeremiah the prophet, after that the king had burnt the volume, and
the words that Baruch had written from the mouth of Jeremias, saying:
28 Take you again another volume: and write in it all the former
words that were in the first volume which Joakim the king of Juda
both burnt. 29 And you shall say to Joakim the king of Juda: Thus
says the Lord: You have burnt that volume, saying: Why have you
written therein, and said: The king of Babylon shall come speedily,
and shall lay waste this land: and shall cause to cease from thence
man and beast? 30 Therefore thus says the Lord against Joakim the
king of Juda: He shall have none to sit upon the throne of David: and
his dead body shall be cast out to the heat by day, and to the frost
by night. 31 And I will punish him, and his seed and his servants,
for their iniquities, and I will bring upon them, and upon the
inhabitants of Jerusalem, and upon the men of Juda all the evil that
I have pronounced against them, but they have not heard. 32 And
Jeremias took another volume, and gave it to Baruch the son of Nerias
the scribe: who wrote in it from the mouth of Jeremias all the words
of the book which Joakim the king of Juda had burnt with fire: and
there were added besides many more words than had been before.

Amos 3, 8
8 The lion shall roar,
who will not fear? The Lord God has spoken, who shall not prophesy?

Amos 7, 15

15 And the Lord took me when I followed
the flock, and the Lord said to me: Go, prophesy to my people Israel.

Daniel 5, 11-12

11 There is a man in your kingdom that
has the spirit of the holy gods in him: and in the days of your
father knowledge and wisdom were found in him: for King
Nabuchodonosor, your father, appointed him prince of the wise men,
enchanters, Chaldeans, and soothsayers, your father, I say, O king:
12 Because a greater spirit, and knowledge, and understanding, and
interpretation of dreams, and showing of secrets, and resolving of
difficult things, were found in him, that is, in Daniel: whom the
king named Baltassar. Now, therefore, let Daniel be called for, and
he will tell the interpretation.

Hebrews 1, 1

1 God, who, at sundry times and in
divers manners, spoke in times past to the fathers by the prophets,
last of all, (2)


================================================================

Lednica - 'His words are sweet'
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RkX0AT0r2eQ
—————————————
Use of:
– The Bible.
– Dictionary of Biblical Theology, p. 876 – 877.
– Internet.


 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
